×

New novel from ‘Da Vinci Code’ author Dan Brown due next year

Fans of "The Da Vinci Code" and "Inferno" could be in for a treat next year, as bestselling author Dan Brown is scheduled to release a new novel featuring Harvard "symbologist" Robert Langdon making yet another "earth-shaking discovery."

Little is known about the new novel beyond its title — "Origin" — and that it is slated for release in September 2017. The book's publishers — Doubleday in the U.S. and Penguin Random House's Transworld in the U.K. — said the book will feature Langdon at "the dangerous intersection of humankind's two most enduring questions, and the earth-shaking discovery that will answer them."

There are more 200 million copies of Brown's previous novels -- which include "The Lost Symbol," "Angels and Demons," and "Digital Fortress" -- in print worldwide and his works have been translated into 56 languages, Penguin Random House said in a release.

"Origin" will be released simultaneously in the U.S., Canada and the U.K on September 26, 2017.


Follow CNBC International on Twitter and Facebook.