CNBC News Releases

Legend Holdings Chairman and Lenovo Founder, Liu Chuanzhi, to receive Lifetime Achievement Award from CNBC

Additional nominees for upcoming Asia Business Leaders Awards (ABLA) also announced

Singapore, 5 October 2016 - CNBC, the world's leading business and financial news network, has announced that Mr Liu Chuanzhi, Chairman of Legend Holdings Corporation and founder of Lenovo Group, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award at this year's Asia Business Leaders Awards (ABLA).

Now in their 15th year, the CNBC awards recognize business pioneers for achievement, innovative spirit and commitment to excellence. The awards will be presented at a CNBC Gala in Jakarta, Indonesia on 23 November.

In addition to the Lifetime Achievement winner, the shortlisted nominees in five other categories have been revealed. The list, which includes some of the biggest names in Asian corporate life, represents the best of leadership across 10 countries.

Previous Lifetime Achievement winners have included Japanese retailing giant, Mr Tadashi Yanai, and Indian industrialist Mr Ratan N Tata.

Acknowledging his accolade, Mr Liu Chuanzhi said: "It is an honor to receive this award from CNBC, the world's leader in business news. Chinese private enterprises have experienced substantial development for more than three decades since China's reform and opening-up. Companies like Lenovo are able to continuously grow on their own in the fierce competition via their efforts, and move further onto the international stage. The on-going integration of science and technology with global economy will fill the future with infinite imagination accompanied by more opportunities and challenges for enterprises. Legend Holdings or Lenovo needs to clutch the time assisted by constant 'Fu Pan' and innovation in order to realize a healthier development that lasts longer. Only then can we contribute value to Chinese, Asian, and even the world economy."

KC Sullivan, President and Managing Director of CNBC International, added: "Mr Liu is a driven individual whose vision and commitment have helped position China as an economic powerhouse, especially in technology. We're delighted that he has agreed to join the select group of ABLA Lifetime Achievement winners."

The presenting sponsor of ABLA 2016 is Six Capital and the event sponsor is Astra International.

Note to Editors:

In addition to the Lifetime Achievement Award, the five ABLAs are:
1. Asia Business Leader of the Year Award,
2. Asia Disruptor of the Year Award,
3. Asia Talent Management Award,
4. Corporate Social Responsibility Award and
5. Indonesia Business Leader Award

The following are shortlisted candidates vying for the remaining five awards at ABLA 2016.


  • Mr Fan Bao, CEO, China Renaissance Partners
  • Dr Xue Feng, Vice Chairman & President, EverBright Securities Co., Ltd

Hong Kong

  • Dr Yuet Wah Chu, CEO & Executive Director, Kingston Financial Group Limited
  • Mr Mark Tucker, Group CEO & President, AIA Group Limited
  • Mr Charles Wong, CEO, Prive Holdings Limited


  • Mr Vishwavir Ahuja, MD & CEO, RBL Bank Ltd
  • Mr Vimal Bhandari, MD & CEO, IndoStar Capital Finance Limited
  • Mr Sudhin Choksey, MD & CEO, Gruh Finance Limited
  • Mr Manav Garg, CEO & Founder, Eka Software Solutions
  • Mr Sunil Godhwani, Whole-Time Director & CEO, Religare Enterprises Limited
  • Mr Ramesh Iyer, Vice Chairman & MD, Mahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Limited
  • Mr Pradeep Jain, Chairman, Parsvnath Developers Limited
  • Mr Jayesh Vallabhaji Madiyar, Chairman & MD, Excel Castronics Limited
  • Mr Nandakumar V. Padmanabhan, MD & CEO, Manappuram Finance Ltd
  • Mr Rashesh Shah, Chairman & CEO, Edelweiss Group, Edelweiss Financial Services
  • Dr Vishal Sikka, CEO, Infosys Limited
  • Mr Vaidyanathan Vembu, Executive Chairman, Capital First Limited
  • Ms Vishakha R.M., MD & CEO, IndiaFirst Life Insurance


  • Mr Willy Suwandi Dharma, President Director, Adira Dinamika Multi Finance Tbk., PT
  • Mr Ahmad Irfan, CEO, BJB Bank
  • Mr Paul Janelle, President Director, HM Sampoerna Tbk., PT
  • Mr Francis Lay, President Director & CEO, BFI Finance Indonesia Tbk., PT
  • Mr Wachjudi Martono, President Director, Darma Henwa Tbk., PT
  • Mr Bintang Perbowo, President Director, Wijaya Karya (Persero), PT
  • Mdm Parwati Surjaudaja, President Director & CEO, Bank OCBC NISP Tbk., PT
  • Mr Djaja Sutandar, President Director, Wahana Ottomitra Multiartha Tbk., PT
  • Mr Muhammad Arif Wibowo, President & CEO, Garuda Indonesia
  • Mr Taswin Zakaria, President & CEO, Bank Maybank Indonesia, PT


  • Mr Yukihiro Abe, CEO, Dear Life
  • Mr Jim Chang, CEO, Croesus Retail Asset Management Pte Ltd
  • Mr Yoshinori Fukushima, Representative Director & CEO, Gunosy Inc.
  • Mr Mitsuru Izumo, President & CEO, Euglena Co., Ltd
  • Dr Ying Luo, Director, REO, President & CEO, GNI Group Ltd
  • Dr Ichiro Nakatomi, President & CEO, NanoCarrier Co., Ltd
  • Dr Isao Teshirogi, President & CEO, Shionogi & Co., Ltd


  • Datuk Seri Tajuddin Atan, CEO, Bursa Malaysia Berhad
  • Mr Ruben Emir Gnanalingam Bin Abdullah,CEO, Westports Holdings
  • Datuk Woon Chet Chai, Group MD, XOX Berhad
  • Mr Patrick Grove, Co-Founder & Group CEO, Catcha Group
  • Mr Alois Hofbauer, Regional Head of Malaysia, Singapore & Brunei, Nestle Berhad
  • Mr Sze Choon Kong, CEO, UOA Real Estate Investment Trust
  • Mr Chee Wei Lim, Chairman, Nutric Group
  • Mr Alex Loo, CEO & Chairman, GCCP Resources Limited
  • Dato Rohana Rozhan, Group CEO, Astro Malaysia Holdings Berhad
  • Ms Caroline Russell, CEO, BOH Plantations

The Philippines

  • Dr Justo Ortiz, Chairman & CEO, UnionBank of the Philippines
  • Mr Hans Sy, President, SM Prime Holdings


  • Mr Achal Agarwal, President, Kimberly-Clark Asia Pacific Pte Ltd
  • Mr Maximilian Bittner, CEO, Lazada Group
  • Ms Sock Koong Chua, Group CEO, Singtel
  • Mr Piyush Gupta, CEO, DBS Group
  • Mr Robert Martin, MD & CEO, BOC Aviation Limited
  • Ms Natalia Shuman, Senior VP & GM, Asia Pacific and EMEA Regions, Kelly Services Inc.
  • Mr Raman Singh, CEO, APAC, LATAM & MEA, Mundipharma
  • Mr Kin Fei Tang, Group President & CEO, Sembcorp Industries
  • Mr Gim Hock Thio, CEO & Group MD, OUE Limited
  • Mr Kim Yin Wong, Group CEO, Singapore Power


  • Mr Richard M. Tsai, Chairman, Taiwan Mobile Co., Ltd
  • Mr Chen-Chih Tai, Chairman, King's Town Bank


  • Ms Thippaporn Ahriyavraromp, CEO, DTGO Corporation Limited, DT Group of Companies and Magnolia Quality Development Corporation Limited
  • Mr Boonsihthi Chokwatana, Chairman, SAHA GROUP/Saha Pathana Inter-Holding Public Company Limited
  • Mr Peerapong Jaroon-EK, CEO, Origin Property
  • Mr Somchai Lertsutiwong, CEO, Advanced Info Service PLC
  • Mr Paul Srivorakul, Group CEO, aCommerce
  • Dr Prateep Tangmatitham, Chairman & President, Supalai Public Co., Ltd
  • Mr Boontuck Wungcharoen, CEO, TMB Bank Public Company Limited

Profiles of all ABLA shortlisted candidates are available at

More information on ABLA 2016 is available at

Media Contact:

Mike Cheong
Communications Manager, CNBC Asia Pacific
D: +65 6326 1123
M: +65 9852 8630

About CNBC

CNBC is the leading global broadcaster of live business and financial news and information, reporting directly from the world's major financial markets via three regional TV networks in Asia, EMEA and the US. is the preeminent financial news source on the web featuring video, real-time market analysis and dynamic financial tools. CNBC serves the world's most powerful audience of CEOs, senior executives, the financial services industry and private investors and is available in more than 381 million homes worldwide. CNBC is a division of NBCUniversal.

For more information, please visit