×

TV Azteca Announces Cancellation of US$42.5 Million of Its US$300 Million Senior Notes Due in 2018

MEXICO CITY, March 15, 2017 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- TV Azteca, S.A.B. de C.V. (BMV:AZTECA CPO) (Latibex:XTZA), one of the two largest producers of Spanish-language television programming in the world, announced today the cancellation of US$42.5 million of its US$300 million senior notes with coupon of 7.5% due in 2018 that the company repurchased previously with cash generated from the operation.

The transaction reflects the solid financial performance in TV Azteca, and the firm commitment of the company to reduce the full amount of dollar-denominated debt to strengthen its capital structure.

Company Profile

TV Azteca is one of the two largest producers of Spanish-language television programming in the world, operating three national television networks in Mexico, Azteca Trece, Azteca 7 and Proyecto 40, through more than 300 owned and operated stations across the country. TV Azteca affiliates include Azteca America, a broadcast television network focused on the rapidly growing U.S. Hispanic market, and Azteca Web, an Internet company for North American Spanish speakers.

TV Azteca is a Grupo Salinas company (www.gruposalinas.com), a group of dynamic, fast-growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, contributing to build the middle class of the countries in which they operate and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. The companies include TV Azteca (www.tvazteca.com; www.irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (us.azteca.com), Grupo Elektra (www.elektra.com.mx: www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx), Totalplay (www.totalplay.com.mx) and Enlace TP (enlacetp.mx). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings. However, the member companies share a common vision, values and strategies for achieving rapid growth, superior results and world-class performance.

Except for historical information, the matters discussed in this press release are forward-looking statements and are subject to certain risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from those projected. Other risks that may affect TV Azteca and its subsidiaries are identified in documents sent to securities authorities.

Investor Relations: Bruno Rangel Grupo Salinas Tel. +52 (55) 1720-9167 jrangelk@gruposalinas.com.mx Rolando Villarreal TV Azteca, S.A.B. de C.V. Tel. +52 (55) 1720-9167 rvillarreal@gruposalinas.com.mx Press Relations: Luciano Pascoe Grupo Salinas Tel. +52 (55) 1720-1313 ext. 36553 lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx Daniel McCosh Grupo Salinas Tel. +52 (55) 1720-0059 dmccosh@gruposalinas.com.mx

Source: TV Azteca, SAB de CV

More From Press Releases