Baytex Reports Election of Directors

CALGARY, Alberta, May 04, 2017 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Baytex Energy Corp. (TSX:BTE) (NYSE:BTE) reports that the nominees listed in its Information Circular-Proxy Statement for the 2017 Annual Meeting of Shareholders were elected as directors. Detailed results of the vote for the election of directors held at the Annual Meeting held earlier today are set out below.

Name of NomineeVotes ForVotes Withheld
# % # %
James L. Bowzer42,775,732 82.26 9,222,639 17.74
John A. Brussa41,344,129 79.51 10,654,242 20.49
Raymond T. Chan44,041,723 84.70 7,956,648 15.30
Edward Chwyl48,666,718 93.59 3,331,653 6.41
Trudy M. Curran50,064,277 96.28 1,934,094 3.72
Naveen Dargan49,056,759 94.34 2,941,611 5.66
R.E.T. (Rusty) Goepel49,387,454 94.98 2,610,917 5.02
Edward D. LaFehr49,897,520 95.96 2,100,851 4.04
Gregory K. Melchin50,068,906 96.29 1,929,465 3.71
Mary Ellen Peters50,044,437 96.24 1,953,934 3.76
Dale O. Shwed41,458,105 79.73 10,540,266 20.27

For complete voting results, please see our Report of Voting Results which will be available tomorrow through SEDAR at and EDGAR at

Baytex Energy Corp. is an oil and gas corporation based in Calgary, Alberta. The company is engaged in the acquisition, development and production of crude oil and natural gas in the Western Canadian Sedimentary Basin and in the Eagle Ford in the United States. Approximately 79% of Baytex’s production is weighted toward crude oil and natural gas liquids. Baytex's common shares trade on the Toronto Stock Exchange and the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol BTE.

For further information about Baytex, please visit our website at or contact:

Brian Ector, Senior Vice President, Capital Markets and Public Affairs

Toll Free Number: 1-800-524-5521

Source:Baytex Energy Corp.