×

UPDATE 6-Oil creeps up from 10-month low, down nearly 4 pct on week

* Oil lifted as U.S. dollar falls

* Crude slumps about 20 pct in first half

* Many U.S. shale drillers profitable at $40/barrel -Cenkos

* Coming Up: Baker Hughes rig count 1 p.m. ET/1700 GMT

* Coming Up: U.S. CFTC trade report: 3:30 p.m. ET 1930 GMT (New throughout, updates prices, market activity and comments; new byline, changes dateline, previous LONDON)

NEW YORK, June 23 (Reuters) - Oil futures climbed almost 1 percent on Friday on lift from a falling dollar but remained down for a fifth week in a row and close to a 10-month low as OPEC-led production cuts have failed to substantially reduce a global crude glut.

Brent futures were up 40 cents, or 0.9 percent at $45.62 a barrel by 11:52 a.m. EDT (1552 GMT), pushing the front-month out of technically oversold territory for the first time this week.

U.S. West Texas Intermediate crude was up 37 cents, or 0.9 percent, at $43.11 per barrel.

Both Brent and U.S. futures remained on track to decline for a fifth week in a row, which would be the longest slumps for the front-month contracts since August 2015.

"Crude is getting a good pop off the fall in the dollar," said Phil Davis, managing partner at PSW Investments in Woodland Park, New Jersey.

The U.S. dollar was down 0.4 percent against a basket of currencies, on track for its biggest daily percentage decline since early June after weaker-than-expected U.S. economic data. This boosted greenback-denominated oil.

Still, oil prices remain down about 20 percent this year despite an effort led by the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries to cut production 1.8 million barrels per day (bpd).

That puts the market on course for its biggest first-half percentage fall since the late 1990s, when rising output and the Asian financial crisis led to sharp losses.

"We doubt that demand growth will accelerate sufficiently to break the current downward price momentum," analysts at Bank of America Merrill Lynch said in a note on Friday, citing surprisingly weak recent economic data in the United States, China and Asia.

OPEC-led efforts to reduce production and end the oil glut have been frustrated by soaring output from the United States and OPEC members Libya and Nigeria, which are exempt from the cuts.

Thanks to shale drillers, U.S. oil production <C-OUT-T-EIA> has risen more than 10 percent in the past year to 9.35 million bpd, close to the level of top exporter Saudi Arabia.

"Rising U.S. output continues to stress markets, with increasing evidence that improved efficiency and technology makes many of the shale plays profitable below $40 a barrel," analysts at Cenkos Securities wrote.

(Additional reporting by Karolin Schaps in London and Henning Gloystein in Singapore; Editing by Dale Hudson and David Gregorio)