ASP Welcomes Secretary John Kerry Back to the Board of Directors

WASHINGTON, Oct. 2, 2017 /PRNewswire/ -- On October 2, 2017, the American Security Project (ASP) welcomed back founding member Secretary John Kerry to its Board of Directors. After leaving the ASP board to fulfill his duties as Secretary of State in 2013, ASP is pleased to have one of its founding members return to help continue its mission of vision, strategy, and dialogue.

Upon rejoining the board, Secretary Kerry said:

"I am very proud of the bipartisan consensus ASP has been building around critical national security issues. When I formed ASP with my Senate colleagues more than 10 years ago, we agreed that the security of our nation was not a partisan issue, and that we could all work together to secure the future of our country. Today, I am excited to return to the board and work with the men and women of this organization to continue its tradition of bipartisan cooperation and educate the American public on solutions to the many threats we must address."

ASP President, Mr. Nelson Cunningham said:

"Secretary Kerry's vision for national security in the 21st century remains critical. His focus on uniting our policymakers around a national security strategy based on facts and the long-term interests of our country continues to be vital in the years ahead. We are pleased to have him back."

ASP Chairperson, Governor Christine Todd Whitman said:

"I am delighted to welcome Secretary Kerry back to the board. As we persevere in our efforts to find solutions to the threats we face, we cannot underestimate the need for the kind of bipartisan consensus building he has strived for and exemplified in the founding of the American Security Project."

About The American Security Project

The American Security Project (ASP) is a nonpartisan organization created to educate the American public and the world about the changing nature of national security in the 21st Century.

Our mission:

  • To communicate our vision for security in the 21st Century by developing and sharing new ideas and critical analyses on the most important national security issues of our time;
  • To forge a bipartisan consensus on a new national security strategy that will restore America's leadership and ensure our security;
  • To raise the American public's understanding of critical national security issues through direct engagement and dialogue.


Hon. John F. Kerry
Hon. Chuck Hagel
Hon. Gary Hart
Hon. Warren Rudman

Board Members:

Chairperson –
Gov. Christine Todd Whitman

President –
Nelson W. Cunningham

BGen Stephen A. Cheney, USMC (Ret.)

Norman R. Augustine
Ambassador Jeffrey Bleich
Hon. Donald Beyer
Alejandro Brito
LTG Daniel Christman, USA (Ret.)
Nicholas Clark
Robert B. Crowe
Lee Cullum
ADM William Fallon, USN (Ret.)
Raj Fernando
Scott D. Gilbert
VADM Lee Gunn, USN (Ret.)
Hon. Chuck Hagel
Hon. Gary Hart
LTG Claudia Kennedy, USA (Ret.)
Hon. John F. Kerry
Gen Lester Lyles, USAF (Ret.)
Dennis Mehiel
Stuart Piltch
Ed Reilly
LtGen Norman Seip, USAF (Ret)

Ex Officio –
Dante Disparte



1100 New York Avenue NW
Suite 710W
Washington, DC 20005

View original content:http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/asp-welcomes-secretary-john-kerry-back-to-the-board-of-directors-300528776.html

SOURCE American Security Project