Secure Technology Alliance Announces 2017-2018 Board and Executive Leadership

PRINCETON JUNCTION, N.J., Nov. 20, 2017 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The Secure Technology Alliance today announced its new board of directors and seven-member executive committee to lead and provide guidance for the organization. The Secure Technology Alliance is the security industry’s premier association, bringing together thought leaders to stimulate understanding and widespread adoption of secure solutions and the related systems needed to protect privacy and data, enable secure authentication and facilitate commerce.

“The world is increasingly becoming interconnected and mobile, making the need for secure technologies, and education and coordination around those technologies, critical,” said Randy Vanderhoof, executive director of the Secure Technology Alliance. “Our executive leadership will play a significant part in this by guiding our membership and industry councils on collaboration, strategy, education, outreach activities and events in order to facilitate the adoption of these secure technologies.”

The Secure Technology Alliance newly elected executive committee is made up of the following board members:

  • Chair: Jack Jania, Gemalto
  • Vice Chair: Oliver Manahan, Infineon Technologies
  • Treasurer: Brian Stein, CH2M
  • Assistant Treasurer: Morgan Richard, XTec Inc.
  • Secretary: Tom Lockwood, Nextgen ID Inc.
  • Assistant Secretary: Kelly Urban, First Data
  • Technology Vice Chair: Allen Friedman, Ingenico

“With the news of ever increasing security breaches, the future presents the Secure Technology Alliance with many opportunities to provide security technology education and best practice leadership across various industries. I look forward to working with the executive committee and the new and returning board members to advance the Alliance’s mission over the next two years as Chair,” said newly elected chair Jack Jania, senior vice president of strategic alliances at Gemalto.

Other newly elected or returning members to the Alliance board:

  • Tim Baldridge, U.S. Department of Defense/Defense Manpower Data Center
  • Melanie Gluck, Mastercard
  • Wes Haworth, Verifone
  • Simon Hurry, Visa Inc.
  • Eric Megret-Dorne, G+D Mobile Security
  • Elinor Smith, Discover Financial Services
  • Garfield Smith, IDEMIA

More information regarding the board and the Secure Technology Alliance management can be found at For continuing updates on the Secure Technology Alliance, visit, and follow @SecureTechOrg on Twitter.

About the Secure Technology Alliance
The Secure Technology Alliance is a not-for-profit, multi-industry association working to stimulate the understanding, adoption and widespread application of secure solutions, including smart cards, embedded chip technology, and related hardware and software across a variety of markets including authentication, commerce and Internet of Things (IoT).

The Secure Technology Alliance, formerly known as the Smart Card Alliance, invests heavily in education on the appropriate uses of secure technologies to enable privacy and data protection. The Secure Technology Alliance delivers on its mission through training, research, publications, industry outreach and open forums for end users and industry stakeholders in payments, mobile, healthcare, identity and access, transportation, and the IoT in the U.S. and Latin America.

For more information, please visit

Megan Shamas
Montner Tech PR

Source:Secure Technology Alliance