Eight Eastern EU members agree to increase payments to next EU budget

BUDAPEST, Feb 2 (Reuters) - Eight Eastern European EU member states have agreed to increase payments in the next long-term budget of the European Union by up to 1.1 percent, after net contributor Britain leaves, Prime Minister Viktor Orban's chief of staff said on Friday.

Ministers of Hungary, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Croatia, Bulgaria and Romania met in Budapest with the EU's Budget Commissioner Guenther Oettinger to discuss the bloc's next budget plan.

"The eight countries agreed with the increasing of the GNI-proportionate payment, which is a major success of the day," Orban's chief of staff Janos Lazar told a news conference. "The eight countries opened the opportunity that the payment should increase, even up to 1.1 percent." (Reporting by Krisztina Than; Editing by Peter Graff)