REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 22:00 GMT/6:00 SGT

Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 22:00 GMT/6:00 SGT. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.

TOP STORIES

GLOBAL

USA-RUSSIA-SUMMIT/

For Putin, Helsinki talks with Trump a win before he even sits down

MOSCOW (Reuters) - For U.S. President Donald Trump, a summit with Vladimir Putin risks a political backlash at home and abroad. For the Russian president, however, the fact the summit is even happening is already a big geopolitical win.

NATO-SUMMIT/

Trump calls Germany 'captive' of Russia; demands higher defense spending

BRUSSELS (Reuters) - U.S. President Donald Trump accused Germany on Wednesday of being a captive of Russia due to its energy reliance, before a NATO summit where he pressed allies to more than double defense spending.

U.S.

USA-TSA-LAWSUIT/

TSA screeners win immunity from flier abuse claims: U.S. appeals court

Fliers may have a tough time recovering damages for invasive screenings at U.S. airport security checkpoints, after a federal appeals court on Wednesday said screeners are immune from claims under a federal law governing assaults, false arrests and other abuses.

SOUTH-CAROLINA-WHITESUPREMACIST/

South Carolina white supremacist sentenced to three years on gun charge

An avowed white supremacist and supporter of the gunman behind the massacre at an African-American church in South Carolina in 2015 was sentenced to nearly three years in prison on Wednesday for illegally buying a gun from an undercover FBI agent.

BUSINESS

USA-TRADE-CHINA/

China vows to hit back over U.S. proposal for fresh tariffs

BEIJING/WASHINGTON (Reuters) - China accused the United States of bullying and warned it would hit back after the Trump administration raised the stakes in their trade dispute, threatening 10 percent tariffs on $200 billion of Chinese goods and rattling global markets.

USA-CHINA-TRADE-ZTE-EXCLUSIVE/

China's ZTE clears hurdle to lifting U.S. ban

The United States said on Wednesday that it signed an agreement with ZTE Corp (000063.SZ) that paves the way for the Chinese tech company to resume operations after a nearly three-month ban on doing business with American suppliers.

ENTERTAINMENT

PEOPLE-KYLIEJENNER/

Lip gloss boss: Kylie Jenner to be youngest self-made billionaire

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Reality TV star Kylie Jenner is on track to become the youngest self-made billionaire in the United States thanks to the booming cosmetics company she launched two years ago, Forbes magazine reported on Wednesday.

PEOPLE-CARDIB/

Rapper Cardi B gives birth to girl with husband Offset LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Rapper Cardi B has given birth to her first child, a baby girl, with her rapper husband Offset, according to an announcement she posted to Instagram on Wednesday.

SPORTS

SOCCER-WORLDCUP-CRO-ENG

Mandzukic sends Croatia into first World Cup final

MOSCOW (Reuters) - Mario Mandzukic scored in the 109th minute as Croatia came from behind to beat England 2-1 after extra time on Wednesday and reach their first World Cup final, where they will face France on Sunday, and send the Balkan nation into raptures.

TENNIS-WIMBLEDON-NADAL/

Nadal survives thriller to down Del Potro in quarter-finals

LONDON (Reuters) - It was a case of down but definitely not out as a Rafael Nadal kept picking himself off a slippery and dusty Centre Court surface to storm into the Wimbledon semi-finals with a pulsating 7-5 6-7(7) 4-6 6-4 6-4 over Juan Martin del Potro.

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

SAFRICA-ZUMA/ (PIX) (TV)

Zuma's son appears in South African court on homicide charges

Duduzane Zuma, son of former South African president Jacob Zuma, will appear in a Johannesburg court on Thursday on homicide charges related to a fatal car crash in 2014.

Jul 12

EUROPE-MIGRANTS/TRILATERAL (PIX) (TV)

Interior ministers from Germany, Italy and Austria meet to discuss how to handle migration

Germany's Horst Seehofer, Italy's Matteo Salvini and Austria's Herbert Kickl talk about how to "close" the Mediterranean route for migrants.

12 Jul 01:30 ET, 05:30 GMT

BRITAIN-EU/

Britain's government will publish its much-anticipated Brexit policy document

Britain's government will publish its much-anticipated so-called white paper Brexit policy document. The paper is likely to outline proposals for future customs arrangement and for specific sectors including financial services, agriculture and cars

Jul 12

USA-RUSSIA/SUMMIT-HELSINKI FILE (TV)

Helsinki, a city well-accustomed to summits

Helsinki, Finland is a city well-accustomed to hosting high-level U.S.-Russia and U.S.-Soviet Summits. Previous summits include: Leonid Brezhnev and Gerald Ford in 1975, Mikhail Gorbachev and George H.W. Bush in 1990, Boris Yeltsin and Bill Clinton in 1997. File video edit.

Jul 12

USA-TRUMP/BRITAIN-ARRIVAL (PIX) (TV) (GRAPHIC)

Trump arrives in UK

U.S. President Donald Trump arrives in Britain.

Jul 12

EUROPE-MIGRATION/GERMANY

German Interior Minister Horst Seehofer talks to media in Innsbruck

German Interior Minister Horst Seehofer talks to journalists before he meets his EU counterparts to discuss migration

12 Jul 03:00 ET, 07:00 GMT

SWEDEN-ELECTION/SWEDENDEMOCRATS (PIX) (GRAPHIC)

NEWSMAKER-Riding migration backlash, Sweden's political pariah looks to end isolation

Once denounced as neo-fascists, Jimmie Akesson's Sweden Democrats look poised to translate more voter-friendly nationalist policies into big electoral gains in a country long famed for liberal tolerance.

12 Jul 00:00 ET, 04:00 GMT

TURKEY-NOMADS/ (PIX)

WIDER IMAGE: Nomads in Turkey

Every year on the middle of April Nomads start walking with more than 1000 goats from Mersin on the Mediterranean coast to central Anatolian city of Konya.

12 Jul 07:00 ET, 11:00 GMT

BRITAIN-NIRELAND/

Northern Ireland Protestant groups mark July 12 holiday

Protestant groups in Northern Ireland mark victory in a 17th century battle in an anniversary that often sparks sectarian violence. While there has been little trouble in the past few years, there were some disturbances on the eve of the holiday.

Jul 12

NATO-SUMMIT/GEORGIA-UKRAINE (TV)

Second day of NATO summit, NATO leaders meet presidents of Georgia and Ukraine

NATO leaders meet with the Presidents of Georgia and Ukraine for talks on Black Sea security, ways to strengthen cooperation, and membership aspirations.

12 Jul 02:30 ET, 06:30 GMT

NATO-SUMMIT/AFGHANISTAN (TV)

NATO leaders hold final session about Afghanistan

NATO summit concludes with a meeting with Resolute Support Mission partners on Afghanistan, focusing on operations and the peace process. Leaders will also discuss extending funding for the Afghan security forces until past 2020

12 Jul 04:30 ET, 08:30 GMT

EUROPE-MIGRANTS/ (TV) (GRAPHIC)

News conference after meeting of EU interior ministers

News conference following the informal EU interior ministers meeting to discuss who should take responsibility for migrants crossing the Mediterranean, and how to protect its external border.

12 Jul 06:45 ET, 10:45 GMT

EUROPE-MIGRANTS/AUSTRIA (PIX) (TV) (GRAPHIC)

Informal meeting of EU's justice and home affairs ministers

Informal meeting of European Union ministers for justice and home affairs . Germany and Austria have said their interior ministers will hold a separate meeting beforehand with their Italian counterpart on how to "shut" the southern migrant route into Europe from Africa.

Jul 12

USA-CONGRESS/FBI (PIX) (TV)

Combative hearing expected as FBI agent Peter Strzok testifies to House panel

FBI agent Peter Strzok, who inflamed the ire of Republicans in Congress because of his exchange of politically charged anti-Trump text messages with a colleague, testifies to a joint hearing of the House Judiciary and House Oversight and Government Reform committees.

12 Jul 10:00 ET, 14:00 GMT

DISASTERS / ACCIDENTS

HAWAII-VOLCANO/TOURISM (PIX)

Lava tourism thrives in Hawaii disaster zone

Shane Turpin has for years been taking tourists on boat rides to see lava oozing lazily down Kilauea's slopes and into the Pacific Ocean nearby. In June, he had to stop, when that stream turned into a churning river of molten rock.

12 Jul 06:00 ET, 10:00 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

RYANAIR-UNIONS/

Ryanair Irish pilots hold first strike, grounding at least 30 flights

Ryanair pilots in Ireland are to hold their first strike on Thursday to demand better conditions. While the airline says only 30 flights will be cancelled, it could mark the starting gun for a summer of industrial action at Europe's largest low-cost carrier.

Jul 12

USA-FED/NEUTRAL (PIX) (GRAPHIC)

ANALYSIS-Fed probes new market signals in hunt for a stopping point on rates

U.S. Federal Reserve officials are scouring new corners of the financial markets for signs the U.S. economic expansion may be nearing its end and new research presented to the board offers one potential solution - looking at short-term money markets which strip out some of the changes in market composition that have rendered traditional measures like the 10- 2-year bond spread a less reliable indicator.

12 Jul 01:00 ET, 05:00 GMT

LIBYA-SECURITY/ECONOMY (PIX) (TV)

Bread price hike sharpens economic suffering for Libyans

Libyans already struggling to make ends meet have been hit by sharp increases in bread prices, as a broken imports system and political splits have led to more inflationary pressure for ordinary citizens.

Jul 12

EUROZONE-ECONOMY/COMMISSION

EU Commission publishes interim economic forecast on euro zone growth, inflation

The European Commission publishes its interim summer economic forecast on the GDP and inflation in the euro zone and in the 28 EU member states this year and next.

12 Jul 05:00 ET, 09:00 GMT

EU-NUCLEAR/UK-AUSTRIA

Europe's second-highest court to rule on Austria's challenge to UK's Hinkley nuclear plant

Europe's second-highest court will rule on Austria's challenge to EU regulatory authority's 2014 approval of Britain's 19-billion-euro plan to byild a nuclear plant with French utility EDF.

12 Jul 03:30 ET, 07:30 GMT

INDIA-ECONOMY/INDUSTRIALOUTPUT (PIX)

India releases industrial output data for May

India will release industrial output data for May on July 12 around 5.30 pm (local times).

12 Jul 07:30 ET, 11:30 GMT

INDIA-ECONOMY/INFLATION (PIX)

India releases CPI inflation data for June

India will release CPI inflation data for June on Thursday, July 12, around 5.30 pm (Local Time)

12 Jul 08:00 ET, 12:00 GMT

CARGILL-RESULTS/

Global commodities trader Cargill Inc reports Q4 earnings

Global commodities trader Cargill Inc will report its fourth quarter fiscal 2018 earnings on Thursday, as the trade war between China and the U.S. continues to intensify - disrupting the flow of goods and services between the worlds largest economies.

12 Jul

MEXICO-ECONOMY/INDUSTRIALOUTPUT

Mexico-Industrial production

12 Jul 09:00 ET, 13:00 GMT

USA-CRUDE/INDIA

U.S. oil exports to India climbing ahead of sanctions on Iran

U.S. crude exports to India hit a record in June and through this month are poised to almost double all of 2017's shipments as the Southeast Asian nation's refiners move to replace supplies from Iran and Venezuela in a win for the Trump administration's efforts to isolate the two countries.

12 Jul 01:30 ET, 05:30 GMT

USA-TRADE/SENATE

U.S. Senate committee holds hearing on tariffs, amid furor over China

Assistant Secretary of State for Economic Business Affairs Manisha Singh testifies to the U.S. Senate Foreign Relations Committee about the Trump administration's plans to impose tariffs on China and other nations.

12 Jul 10:00 ET, 14:00 GMT

EUROZONE-EUROGROUP/ (PIX)

Euro zone finance ministers meet in Brussels

Euro zone finance ministers gather in Brussels for a regular monthly meeting in which they will discuss member countries' budget commitments, including Italy's unclear engagements, Bulgaria's prospects to join the euro waiting room and the bloc's banking and fiscal reform.

12 Jul 09:00 ET, 13:00 GMT

SPORTS

SOCCER-WORLDCUP/LOCAL-IMPACT

Soccer - FIFA World Cup - World Cup takes Russia on 'emotional adventure'

Amid the warm hospitality, raucous street parties and laissez-faire policing, Russians from different walks of life have found the World Cup has rubbed off on the country.

12 Jul 09:00 ET, 13:00 GMT

SOCCER-WORLDCUP-CRO-ENG/CROATIA-FANS-REACTIONS

Soccer - FIFA World Cup - Jubilant Croatia fans revel in World Cup semi-final win over England

Jubilant Croatian fans honked their car horns and let off fireworks after their soccer team beat England 2-1 in extra time on Wednesday to clinch a place in the World Cup finals against France.

Jul 12