REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 0600 GMT/0200 ET

Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 6 a.m. GMT/2 a.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.

TOP STORIES

GLOBAL

USA-RUSSIA

Trump invites Putin to Washington despite U.S. uproar over Helsinki summit

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - President Donald Trump has invited Russian President Vladimir Putin to Washington this autumn, the White House said on Thursday, a daring rebuttal to the torrent of criticism in the United States over Trumps failure to publicly confront Putin at their first summit for Moscows meddling in the 2016 election.

BRITAIN-EU-NIRELAND

Visiting Northern Irish border, PM May to defend her Brexit plan

BELLEEK, Northern Ireland, (Reuters) - British Prime Minister Theresa May will tell the people of Northern Ireland on Friday that her Brexit plan is the best way to avoid a hard border with Ireland, standing firm against critics in her own party.

U.S.

MISSOURI-BOAT

'Duck boat' capsizes in Missouri, kills at least eight: police

At least eight people drowned when an amphibious duck boat capsized and sank in stormy weather on a lake in Missouri with 31 people, including children, on board, police said on Thursday as divers searched for other possible victims.

USA-IMMIGRATION

Bulk of families separated at U.S.-Mexico border remain apart

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - With one week left on a court-ordered deadline to reunite children and parents separated by U.S. immigration officials, government lawyers reported on Thursday that 364 of some 2,500 families with children aged 5 and older have been brought back together.

BUSINESS

USA-TRADE-APPLE

Apple Watch, FitBit could feel cost of U.S. tariffs

The latest round of U.S. tariffs on $200 billion of Chinese goods could hit the Apple Watch, health trackers, streaming music speakers and other accessories assembled in China, government rulings on tariffs show.

MICROSOFT-RESULTS

Microsoft beats Wall Street targets on cloud services revenue

Microsoft Corp on Thursday posted quarterly profit and revenue that beat analysts estimates, as more businesses signed up for its Azure cloud computing services and Office 365 productivity suite.

ENTERTAINMENT

USA-COMICCON

Bodysuits, boots and masks galore as Comic-Con opens in San Diego

DASAN DIEGO (Reuters) - There were bodysuits, boots and masks galore in San Diego as thousands of comic, superhero and anime fans flocked to the opening of Comic-Con on Thursday.

USA-COMICCON-DOCTOR-WHO

First female 'Doctor Who' calls role 'an absolute joy'

SAN DIEGO (Reuters) - British actress Jodie Whittaker made her public debut on Thursday as the first female Doctor Who, saying casting a woman to lead the long-running sci-fi television series was inevitable.

SPORTS

FOOTBALL-NFL-ANTHEM

League and union 'working on a resolution' to anthem issue

The NFL and the union representing its players are working on a resolution to the leagues national anthem policy, the two sides said in a joint statement on Thursday.

OLYMPICS-2020-COATES

Tokyo 2020 needs foreign help: IOC's Coates

TOKYO (Reuters) - International Olympic Committee (IOC) Vice President John Coates has said 2020 Tokyo Games organizers must seek foreign expertise in sports where the country has little tradition or experience.

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

USA-IMMIGRATION/REUNIONS (PIX)

At Texas border, joy and chaos as U.S. reunites migrant families

Lawyers working in south Texas this week described a flurry of reunions of detained parents and their children and accelerating releases but also a sense of chaos as they struggle to track down their clients and provide them legal help before they face deportation proceedings across the United States.

20 Jul 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

GERMANY-MERKEL/ (PIX) (TV)

Merkel summer news conference

German Chancellor Angela Merkel holds annual summer news conference, taking questions on any topic. Migrant policy/relations with interior minister Horst Seehofer after govt crisis likely to be highlight plus relations with Trump and trade dispute with U.S.

20 Jul 05:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

CAMBODIA-ELECTION/FACTORY-WORKER (PIX) (TV)

WIDER IMAGE - Cambodian factory worker has little time for politics

Whoever wins Cambodia's general election next week, 27-year-old Khen Srey Touch knows only that she will have to keep working hard for years to come.

20 Jul 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

USA-ELECTION/REPUBLICANS

Republicans upbeat about November elections despite Trump-Putin uproar

Republicans at the party's summer meeting in Austin, Texas, say they are not panicked about President Trumps cozying up to Russia, his criticism of NATO allies, his trade policies rattling rural states and a potentially difficult midterm election on the horizon. Instead, they argue Democrats' poor messaging is boosting the chances of Republican candidates this fall.

20 Jul 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

USA-IMMIGRATION/

Court hearing on U.S. government's to efforts to reunite immigrant children A federal judge will question U.S. government lawyers about progress complying with his order to reunite about 2,500 immigrant children with their parents after they were separated by officials at the U.S.-Mexican border.

20 Jul 16:30 ET / 20:30 GMT

NORTHKOREA-USA/UN (TV)

U.S. Secretary of State Pompeo to meet South Korean counterpart, brief U.N. Security Council members on North Korea

U.S. Secretary of State Pompeo to meet South Korean counterpart, brief U.N. Security Council members on North Korea.

20 Jul 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

BRAZIL-POLITICS/ (PIX)

Brazil populist Ciro Gomes woos center parties key to 2018 election victory

Center-left presidential candidate Ciro Gomes faces a difficult balancing act at his PDT party convention where he will have to signal moderation to draw centrist allies needed to win the October election while not losing the votes of Brazil's left

20 Jul 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

COLOMBIA-POLITICS/ (PIX) (TV)

Colombia's Santos opens new congress with FARC seats

President Juan Manuel Santos will swear in a new congress, including former members of the FARC who were given ten seats as part of the 2016 peace process. We will listen for any announcements Santos makes and see which FARC members take their seats

20 Jul 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

JAPAN-CHILD ABUSE/ (PIX)

Japan draws up emergency steps after 'soul-crushing' child abuse death

Japan said it would add 2,000 child welfare workers within five years as part of emergency steps drawn up in the wake of the death of a five-year-old girl whose handwritten notes seeking forgiveness from her abusive parents have shaken the nation.

20 Jul 03:00 ET / 07:00 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

ECUADOR-ECONOMY/MARKETS

Ecuador economy on right track but still a long way to go - analysts

Ecuador's recent show of fiscal discipline has lifted investor's sentiment toward the Andean country but a follow-through on reforms is key in the second half of the year in order for the positive trend to continue, investors and analysts said.

20 Jul 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

USA-FED/BULLARD

St. Louis Fed President Bullard speaks on U.S. economy and monetary policy

Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis President James Bullard, who is against the U.S. central bank raising interest rates further, speaks on the U.S. economy and monetary policy in Glasgow, Kentucky.

20 Jul 08:20 ET / 12:20 GMT

GE-RESULTS/ (PIX)

General Electric quarterly results likely to be lower

GE is expected to post a decline in second-quarter profit when it posts results on Friday reflecting continued weakness in its power and GE capital businesses. Compared with last quarter, results are expected to be flat to slightly higher, suggesting earnings have stabilized, Shares are up nearly 10 percent since GE disclosed a breakup plan last month.

20 Jul 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

SPORTS

OLYMPICS-IOC/ (PIX) (TV)

IOC President holds briefing after Executive Board meeting IOC President Thomas Bach holds news briefing following three-day executive board meeting in Lausanne, dedicated to anti--doping reports from WADA and CAS; Paris 2024 and Beijing 2022.

20 Jul 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

SOCCER-WORLDCUP/PUTIN

President Vladimir Putin holds a meeting with sports officials to discuss soccer World Cup

Russian President Vladimir Putin holds a meeting with sports officials to discuss soccer World Cup and the development on sport in the country.

20 Jul 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT