Mich. counties get disaster designations

LANSING, Mich. -- The U.S. Department of Agriculture says further disaster designations have been issued for Michigan's Bay and Saginaw counties due to heavy August rains.

Democratic U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow of Michigan announced the determination, which follows heavy rains Aug. 4 through Aug. 22. Her office also says that Arenac, Genesee, Gladwin, Gratiot, Midland, Shiawassee and Tuscola counties were named as contiguous disaster areas.

The designation makes emergency low-interest loans available to eligible farmers. They already were available throughout Michigan due to spring freezes and summer drought.