Feds add 2 NJ counties to disaster jobless list

TRENTON, N.J. -- Federal officials have added Bergen and Somerset counties to the list of New Jersey counties where residents left jobless because of Sandy are eligible for unemployment benefits.

The disaster unemployment assistance program is offered to people who otherwise may not be eligible for regular unemployment insurance.

Those who are unemployed because of the disaster should first file for unemployment insurance benefits through the Internet by going to http://www.njuifile.net .

In addition to Bergen and Somerset counties, the program also is available for residents of Atlantic, Cape May, Essex, Hudson, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean, and Union counties.