Online Nominations for 2013 Fundamental Physics Prize and New Horizons in Physics Prize are Open

NEW YORK, October 1, 2012 /PRNewswire/ --

Three winners of the new Physics Frontiers Prize will be announced this December and become nominees for the 2013 US$ 3 million Fundamental Physics Prize

The Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation announces the opening of online nominations for the next Fundamental Physics Prize and New Horizons in Physics Prize. The electronic nomination form is available at http://www.fundamentalphysicsprize.org/ and nominations will be accepted through November 20, 2012.

By the end of this year, the Foundation's Selection Committee, which is comprised of prior recipients of the Fundamental Physics Prize, will publicly announce the three laureates of the Physics Frontiers Prize and up to three laureates of the New Horizons in Physics Prize. Laureates of the Physics Frontiers Prize will become nominees for the 2013 Fundamental Physics Prize. The winner of the Fundamental Physics Prize will be announced by the Selection Committee at a prize ceremony in the first calendar quarter of 2013. The Physics Frontiers Prize laureates who do not win the Fundamental Physics Prize will receive a prize of US$ 300,000 and will automatically be re-nominated for the Fundamental Physics Prize each year over the next 5 years.

All prizes will be awarded for past achievements in the field of fundamental physics with special attention to recent developments. The Fundamental Physics Prize and the Physics Frontiers Prize recognize transformative advances in the field, while the New Horizons in Physics Prize is targeted at promising junior researchers. The prize recipients will be invited to present public talks targeted at a broad audience, on subjects ranging from the basics of modern physics to cutting-edge research. These lectures, together with supporting materials, will be made available to the public, allowing everyone to keep abreast of the latest developments in fundamental physics, guided by contemporary masters of the field.

Commenting on the opening of Nominations, Nima Arkani-Hamed, a member of Foundation's Selection Committee said:

"This is a tremendous opportunity to recognize the highest levels of achievement in fundamental physics. We look forward to receiving nominations for outstanding candidates ranging across all areas of the field".

About the Prizes


  • Prizes are given annually for accomplishments in fundamental physics broadly defined, including advances in closely related fields with deep connections to physics


  • Fundamental Physics Prize - US$ 3,000,000
  • Physics Frontiers Prize - US$ 300,000
  • New Horizons in Physics Prize - US$ 100,000
  • Prizes are funded by the Milner Foundation


  • Should recognize major achievements, with special attention to recent developments
  • No age restrictions
  • Can be shared by any number of people
  • Can be received more than once


  • Anyone can nominate a candidate online
  • All submissions must be completed by a third party; candidates may not nominate themselves


  • Past recipients of the Fundamental Physics Prize are invited to serve on the Selection Committee to select recipients of future prizes
  • Selection Committee for 2013 prizes includes:
    • Nima Arkani-Hamed
    • Alan Guth
    • Alexei Kitaev
    • Maxim Kontsevich
    • Andrei Linde
    • Juan Maldacena
    • Nathan Seiberg
    • Ashoke Sen
    • Edward Witten


  • In exceptional cases a special Fundamental Physics Prize can be awarded at any time, forgoing the nomination process

Information on the Fundamental Physics Prize is available at: http://www.fundamentalphysicsprize.org

Media Contact

Leonid Solovyev

SOURCE Milner Foundation