3 new members named to Pulitzer Prize board

NEW YORK -- The Pulitzer Prize board has elected three new members to its ranks.

Columbia University, which administers the prizes, announced Tuesday that Steve Coll, Quiara Alegria Hudes and Aminda Marques Gonzalez were joining the board.

Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and author Coll is a staff writer for The New Yorker magazine. He has won the award for explanatory reporting and also for general non-fiction.

Playwright Hudes captured the 2012 Pulitzer Prize for drama.

Marques Gonzalez is executive editor of The Miami Herald, which has been a Pulitzer Prize finalist during her tenure.

The Pulitzer Prize board hands out the best-known awards in journalism. Board members serve a maximum of nine years in three-year terms.