LEHR Inc. Wins 2012 POPULAR MECHANICS Breakthrough Award

LOS ANGELES, Oct. 2, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- Today, POPULAR MECHANICS awarded LEHR Inc. a 2012 Breakthrough Award for the First Ever OEM Propane Outboard Motors. The POPULAR MECHANICS Breakthrough Awards, now in its eighth year, recognizes the innovators and products that have dramatically advanced the fields of technology, medicine, space exploration, automotive design, environmental engineering and more. LEHR and other winners will be honored at an invitation-only gala awards ceremony in New York City on October 4, and then featured in the November issue of POPULAR MECHANICS, available on newsstands October 16.

"We at LEHR are honored of recognition from POPULAR MECHANICS for our propane powered outboard motors, which have garnered a great deal of attention not only for the innovation but also for the contribution to our environment," says LEHR Founder and CEO, Bernardo Herzer. "We are proud to be part of what POPULAR MECHANICS does to encourage companies like ours to continue forging ahead into new territory and creating products and technology that make a difference."

LEHR's technology for powering small engines using propane is the marine solution that is both timely and critical for our planet and its water supply. The EPA and CARB have set strict new standards for gasoline marine engines and fuel systems in order to reduce the amount of VOCs, carbon monoxide, hydrocarbons and smog-forming pollutants. Propane has long been recognized as a "green" energy source due to its ability to reduce emissions, protect the environment and decrease our dependence on foreign oil.

"We are once again excited to recognize this year's list of incredible honorees for their role in shaping the future," says James B. Meigs, editor-in-chief of POPULAR MECHANICS. "From a featherweight metal to the world's fastest and most electrically efficient supercomputer, this year's winners embody the creative spirit that the Breakthrough Awards were founded upon."

Past recipients of the Breakthrough Awards include James Cameron, genomics pioneer J. Craig Venter, efficiency expert Amory Lovins, inventor and FIRST Robotics founder Dean Kamen, and humanitarian engineer Amy Smith.

Follow the 2012 Breakthrough Awards @PopMech, #BTA2012.

Press Contact:

Penny Vizcarra
(310) 858-8230