Taxpayer Watchdog Endorses Two Ohio Congressional Candidates

WASHINGTON--(BUSINESS WIRE)-- Today, the Council for Citizens Against Government Waste Political Action Committee (CCAGW PAC) announced its endorsements of Reps. Steve Chabot (R) and Jim Jordan (R), who are running for re-election in Ohio.

“Vigilance on cutting deficits and reducing the debt has never been more essential,” said CCAGW PAC Chairman Tom Schatz. “Taxpayers need friends in Washington who will defend their interests, not the special interests. That is why the CCAGW PAC is supporting Reps. Chabot and Jordan, who are fiscal conservatives committed to reducing the size of government by working to eliminate waste, fraud, and abuse.”

Both of these candidates have been principled advocates for lower taxes and smaller government and were designated “Taxpayer Heroes” in CCAGW’s 2011 Congressional Ratings. Rep. Chabot received a score of 98 percent and Rep. Jordan received a rating of 92 percent. “The CCAGW Congressional Ratings certify that these candidates will continue to strive to control spending, fight for lower taxes, and eradicate wasteful programs,” declared Schatz.

The CCAGW PAC also urges Ohio voters to closely examine the records of all incumbents because some have received abysmal vote ratings. Rep. Tim Ryan (D), for example, received a score of 5 percent in the CCAGW 2011 Congressional Ratings, the same as his lifetime rating, earning the rank of “Hostile to Taxpayers,” and Rep. Betty Sutton (D) scored 9 percent in 2011 and has a lifetime rating of 4 percent. Reps. Ryan’s and Sutton’s ratings demonstrate continued support for higher taxes and profligate spending, which have placed the country on a path to fiscal ruin.

“In the current political and fiscal climate, Congress has engaged in an historically unprecedented level of spending, and is supporting actions that will mortgage our children’s futures. On November 6, 2012, voters in Ohio should support Reps. Chabot and Jordan, and other candidates like them, so that they can fight for fiscally conservative principles that will be vital to taxpayers in the 113th Congress. We also urge voters to oppose Reps. Ryan and Sutton, who have been antagonistic to the interests of taxpayers throughout their tenures in Washington,” concluded Schatz.

CCAGW PAC is affiliated with the Council for Citizens Against Government Waste, a 501(c)(4) organization. CCAGW PAC’s mission is to support political candidates who will fight to eliminate waste, fraud, and abuse in government and represent the best interests of taxpayers.

Paid for by the Council for Citizens Against Government Waste Political Action Committee. Not authorized by any candidate or candidate's committee.

Leslie K. Paige, 202-467-5334
Luke Gelber, 202-467-5318

Source: Council for Citizens Against Government Waste Political Action Committee (CCAGW PAC)