We Want You: Calling on Reporters, Writers, Producers and Editors to Enter Outstanding Bone and Joint Health Stories

Less than two weeks to enter MORE (Media Orthopaedic Reporting Excellence) Awards

ROSEMONT, Ill., Oct. 3, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) has opened the call for submissions to its eighth annual MORE Awards. These awards recognize excellence in accurate reporting on musculoskeletal health issues and healthy behaviors in the care of bones and joints. The Academy invites all journalists to submit their stories of prevention, treatment and recovery on musculoskeletal issues.

Stories can cover any bone and joint health related topic, whether it's on a particular orthopaedic condition, clinical research, musculoskeletal health trends, injuries or innovative treatments.

MORE Awards will be given to stories written for a CONSUMER audience in the following categories:

  • National & Local Print Journalism: newspapers, magazines
  • National & Local Broadcast Journalism: television, radio
  • Web-specific Journalism: stories created exclusively for an online audience
  • Advocacy and Health Policy Journalism: newspapers, magazines, Internet, television, radio

The entry deadline is Monday, October 15, 2012. Entries must have been published or broadcast between October 1, 2011 and October 1, 2012. Enter all stories online at newsroom.aaos.org/moreawards.

"The media is a powerful source of information for patients, and it is essential for journalists to report accurate and beneficial information to the public," said Academy president John Tongue, M.D. "The MORE Awards is our way of applauding journalists who share bone and joint health information, therefore, giving this important subject matter the attention it deserves."

The MORE Awards will be presented in Washington, D.C. at the Academy's National Orthopaedic Leadership Conference in May 2013.

The 2012 MORE Award winners were a diverse group of 24 health and medical writers, producers and freelance reporters working for print, broadcast and online outlets. Below are a highlighted few:

  • Arthritis Today
  • AARP Bulletin
  • Ladies' Home Journal
  • Huffington Post
  • Sports Illustrated
  • USA Today.com

See the complete list of past winners: 2012 Winners, 2011 Winners

Rules Form
About AAOS

SOURCE American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons