Arizona State Credit Union Awards $37,000 to Local College Students and Graduates

Financial cooperative helps relieve burden of student finances for 18 Arizona students and alumni

PHOENIX--(BUSINESS WIRE)-- Arizona State Credit Union awarded $37,000 to 18 deserving students and alumni of Arizona universities and colleges through its Community Leaders Scholarship and Loan Reduction Grant program.

Among the winners was Alyssa Duprey of Gilbert, who was the first recipient to be awarded the Quentin Bogart Scholarship. This award honors Quentin Bogart, Director Emeritus, and is given to a student pursuing a degree in education at the Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College at Arizona State University.

The annual scholarship and grant program supports the local financial institution’s commitment to sustainability and demonstrates its ongoing dedication to the people of Arizona and the local communities the Credit Union serves.

“As a cooperative, we believe that money is a renewable resource, which means that when members borrow from the credit union, they are supporting community outreach efforts like the Community Leaders Scholarship and Loan Reduction Grant Program,” said David E. Doss, President/CEO of Arizona State Credit Union. “This is what separates us from other financial institutions and helps grow our local Arizona communities.”

All 18 recipients are representative of Arizona’s diverse student population and are associated with one of the following schools: Arizona State University, Northern Arizona University, University of Arizona, Mesa Community College, Coconino Community College and Phoenix College.

The Community Leaders Scholarship helps students attending various state universities, colleges and vocational schools pay for tuition, books and other academic expenses.

The Loan Reduction Grant is unique in that it helps graduates pay for accrued student loans, a large financial burden upon leaving school. The grant was awarded to graduates for their academic achievements and continuing commitment to their communities.

Information regarding 2013 scholarship and grant applications will be available in Fall 2013 at

Congratulations to:

  • Alyssa Duprey of Gilbert, AZ – ASU, Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College
  • Kiana Maria Sears of Mesa, AZ – ASU
  • Lorena Zeilman-Caballero of Flagstaff, AZ – NAU
  • Yevgeniy Marusenko of Tempe, AZ – ASU
  • Julianne Hill of Chandler, AZ – ASU
  • Michael Ray Mumpower of Phoenix, AZ – ASU
  • Johanna Bazzill of Cottonwood, AZ – NAU
  • Jacqueline Greenfield of Glendale, AZ – NAU
  • Brad Smith of Tempe, AZ – ASU
  • Kent M. Johnson of Mesa, AZ – ASU
  • Jessica Hancock of Mesa, AZ – Mesa Community College
  • Veronica Noelle Riley of Flagstaff, AZ – Coconino Community College
  • Loren Brock of Phoenix, AZ – Phoenix College
  • Yusef McCall of Tempe, AZ – ASU
  • Travis Dale Skinner of Pima, AZ – ASU
  • Taylor Spevak of Tucson, AZ – U of A
  • Erik Frank Andersen of Tucson, AZ – U of A
  • Melissa Kabinto of Flagstaff, AZ – Coconino Community College

About Arizona State Credit Union

Arizona State Credit Union is a $1.4 billion full-service, not-for-profit local financial cooperative with a statewide branch network serving the people of Arizona. More than 125,000 Arizonans turn to Arizona State Credit Union for the organization’s commitment to meeting members’ needs with enhanced services and community outreach programs. Arizona State Credit Union has grown dramatically since its founding in 1951, providing a full line of financial products and services at 21 locations across the state. More than 60 years of excellence and outstanding customer service have helped the Credit Union become a six-time winner of Arizona Business Magazine’s Ranking Arizona and a five-time recipient of the Peter Barron Stark & Associates Award for Workplace Excellence™. Arizona State Credit Union is headquartered in Phoenix and welcomes membership from businesses and individuals throughout the state. Reach us at 800.671.1098 or visit us at

Arizona State Credit Union
Jordan Masi, 602-467-4133

Source: Arizona State Credit Union