×

Grupo Salinas Receives 2012 National Electricity Savings Award From Mexico's Federal Electricity Commission

MEXICO CITY, Nov. 29, 2012 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas, a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate - founded by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com) - announced today that it received the XVI National Energy Savings Prize, awarded by the Federal Electricity Commission and the FIDE energy savings trust. The first place prize was for the category of Large Retail and Service Companies.

The energy savings represent a reduction of 135,000 MWh or 14% of electricity consumption, which saves the equivalent of 138,000 barrels of oil, or the consumption of 81,500 homes. The energy savings also imply a reduction of 90,000 tons of CO2 into the atmosphere, which would need 449,000 trees to be neutralized.

Grupo Salinas is firmly committed to the environment. The energy savings measures include the replacement of 40,000 incandescent bulbs for energy saving LEDs in Banco Azteca, Elektra and Azteca; the replacement of more than 850 air conditioners, totaling 2,000 tons of cooling efficiency; integration of over 560 advanced remote monitoring systems for energy management in the Grupo Salinas stores and offices in Mexico and Latin America, using innovative software to track energy indices, among many other actions.

To achieve its sustainability strategy, Grupo Salinas has a research department that evaluates efficient and profitable technologies, establishes methodologies for energy management and develops information systems for monitoring and detecting savings opportunities. Grupo Salinas has a firm commitment to the environment, and seeks economic advances together with environmental protection.

Grupo Salinas Profile.

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

CONTACT: Daniel McCosh; (5255) 1720-0059; dmccosh@gruposalinas.com.mxSource: Grupo Salinas