×

Esperanza Azteca National Youth Orchestra Plays to Standing Ovations in Mexico City's 10,000-Seat Auditorio Nacional During 3rd Annual Gala Concert

MEXICO CITY, Dec. 4, 2012 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas, a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate —founded by Ricardo Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com)— is proud to announce the successful third gala concert of the national Esperanza Azteca youth orchestra.

The orchestra selects top students of a system of 54 orchestras in 29 states, where a total of 12,000 children participate in an intensive musical learning environment designed to promote universal values of teamwork, dedication, self-esteem and passion.

Ricardo Salinas inaugurated the concert of young musicians with a special dedication to Mexico's Paralympic Team in honor of the International Day of Persons With Disabilities. The Mexican squad won 21 medals in the Paralympic Games of London 2012.

The concert included a double orchestra and choir, totaling 245 members, who delighted audiences with a program that included pieces by Dvorak, Mozart, Rossini and Verdi.

"All of you represent the best of Mexico," said Mr. Salinas to the Esperanza Azteca youth. "You have demonstrated the best in teamwork, performance, effort, values and friendship."

The Esperanza Azteca musical education project is a joint endeavor of Grupo Salinas' Fundación Azteca in collaboration with the Mexican Congress, the Education Ministry, the National Council of Culture and the Arts, 29 state governments and local communities.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: TV Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) Totalmovie (www.totalmovie.com) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

About Fundación Azteca

Fundación Azteca is the Grupo Salinas organization that promotes corporate social responsibility both within the group as well as throughout Mexican society as a whole, by linking social needs with organizations and people who are dedicated to social action. The foundation also operates in Peru, Guatemala and El Salvador, as well as in United States through Fundación Azteca America. For more information visit our web page at: www.fundacionazteca.org.

CONTACT: International Press Contact: Daniel McCosh; (5255) 1720-0059; dmccosh@gruposalinas.com.mxSource: Fundacion Azteca; Grupo Salinas

More From Press Releases