EnerQuality Announces 2012 Awards of Excellence Winners

COLLINGWOOD, Ontario, Feb. 25, 2013 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The Minto Group netted two prestige awards from the 2012 EnerQuality Awards of Excellence program. The Ottawa/Toronto based firm was named 2012 Leader of the Year recognizing its outstanding leadership in building high-performance, sustainable new housing. The company was also honoured as the 2012 Ontario Green Builder of the Year, a coveted award sponsored by the Ontario Home Builders' Association (OHBA) that recognizes one outstanding home builder for its leadership in improving the environmental, energy efficiency, and overall technical image of the industry. With many innovative firsts, Minto seeks ways to lower the environmental impact of its land development, construction and building operations while fostering green cultural changes with their customers and residents through social media and Green committees. Employees are also engaged through Minto's Green Champion program and its internal Green website. Minto has won this award four times in the past five years (2012, 2011, 2010 and 2008).

Empire Communities was honoured with the Building Innovation and Excellence award which recognizes a builder that has demonstrated a high level of technical excellence in the implementation of innovative and high performance building practices.

Two firms were presented with EnerQuality's ENERGYSTAR® for New Homes Builder of the Year awards: Eastforest Homes (large volume builder) and Doug Tarry Homes (small volume builder). Both companies were recognized for their corporate commitment to energy efficiency by integrating labeling of their homes under the ENERGYSTAR for New Homes program and successfully leveraging the program to support their corporate image as a leading edge builder. In addition, EnerQuality's ENERGYSTAR® for New Homes Champion of the Year was awarded to Gary Botelho, to recognize his initiative, strong support and promotion of the ENERGY STAR for New Homes program. This is the second consecutive year Gary has been awarded this honour.

The award for EnerQuality's R-2000 Builder of the Year, which recognizes best-in-class energy efficient new home construction under NRCan's National R-2000 program, was presented to Steve Snider Construction.

Commitment, leadership, advocacy and innovation were all recognized in award categories that included Industry Partner of the Year, which went to Owens Corning Canada; and Evaluator of the Year, presented to John Harris. The Hall of Fame Award honoured Stephen Dupuis, former President and CEO of the Building Industry and Land Development Association (BILD) who died unexpectedly in 2011. Stephen was a consummate professional and worked tirelessly on behalf of the residential construction industry and BILD. A prolific and effective communicator, Stephen was dedicated to ensuring Ontarians continue to be among the best-housed people in the world and as such he was a strong supporter of EnerQuality and encouraged BILD members to embrace sustainable and energy efficient building.

"All 2012 winners represent some of the remarkable leaders and innovators in our industry who are committed to ensuring Ontario moves forward and leads the way in energy efficient, environmentally-friendly building," said EnerQuality President Corey McBurney.

About EnerQuality

EnerQuality (www.enerquality.ca) designs and manages green building programs. Founded in 1998 as a partnership between the Ontario Home Builders' Association and the Canadian Energy Efficiency Alliance, EnerQuality's mission is to transform Ontario's housing market into the most energy efficient and sustainable in the world.

CONTACT: Media Contact: Pauline Lip Program Director Tel: 416.447.0077 Ext. 5 Email: pauline@enerquality.caSource: EnerQuality