×

Grupo Salinas' Azteca America Teams Up With Zocalo Public Square for Series of Town Hall Meetings on Immigration

Grupo Salinas logo
Azteca America logo

WASHINGTON, April 10, 2013 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas' Azteca America is pleased to announce a series of town hall meetings organized in conjunction with Zócalo Public Square in the cities of Los Angeles, Miami, Houston and Chicago.





The first event, entitled: "What Would Immigration Reform Mean for Los Angeles?" will be held on Wednesday, May 1 at The California Endowment.

The conference will be moderated by Roberto Suro, Director, The Tomás Rivera Policy Institute at USC, and include panelists UCLA Graduate School of Education Dean Marcelo Suárez-Orozco, USC sociologist Manuel Pastor, and UC Berkeley School of Public Health California Program on Access to Care Director Gilbert Ojeda.

"We are delighted to be working with Zócalo Public Square to deepen the dialogue on this issue that is so crucial to the future of this country," said Luis J. Echarte, Chairman of Azteca America.

The Miami forum is scheduled for May 10, with Houston and Chicago forums scheduled for May 16 and June 12, respectively. Panelists and moderators will be distinguished faculty, media and members of U.S. Congress, as well as policy leaders from the White House.

Grupo Salinas Profile

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

About Zócalo Public Square

Zócalo Public Square, a project of the Center for Social Cohesion, is a living magazine, an innovative blend of on-the-ground events and on-line journalism, that connects people to ideas and to each other in an open, accessible, non-partisan and broad-minded spirit. Through our web publication, lectures, panels, screenings, and conferences, Zócalo explores ideas that enhance our understanding of citizenship and community—the forces that strengthen or undermine human connectedness and social cohesion. Our events include a free cocktail reception that offers the opportunity to speak directly with our panelists.

We believe that over specialization and narrowcasting undermine the public square and are committed to welcoming a new, young and diverse generation to the conversation.

To RSVP for events, please visit: www.zocalopublicsquare.org

CONTACT: Grupo Salinas Contact: Daniel McCosh 011(5255) 1720-0059 dmccosh@gruposalinas.com.mx Zocalo Public Square Contact: Jennifer Y. Lee 213-381-2541 x 203 jennifer@zocalopublicsquare.org

Source: Grupo Salinas;Azteca America