Grupo Salinas Will Send Live Video Stream From Los Angeles of Azteca America/Zocalo Public Square Town Hall Meeting on Immigration

Grupo Salinas logo
Azteca America logo

WASHINGTON, April 30, 2013 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas is pleased to offer a live streaming service of tomorrow's Azteca America/Zocalo Public Square town hall meeting on immigration in Los Angeles.





The event, entitled: "What Would Immigration Reform Mean for Los Angeles?" will be held on May 1 at The California Endowment.

The conference will be moderated by Roberto Suro, Director, The Tomas Rivera Policy Institute at USC, and include panelists UCLA Graduate School of Education Dean Marcelo Suarez-Orozco, USC sociologist Manuel Pastor, and UC Berkeley School of Public Health California Program on Access to Care Director Gilbert Ojeda.

"We hope that the video streaming will allow the immigration dialogue to permeate across borders and reach interested viewers who are unable to make it to Los Angeles," said Luis J. Echarte, Chairman of Azteca America.

The streaming can be viewed at www.zocalopublicsquare.org or at www.fundacionaztecaamerica.org.

Grupo Salinas Profile

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

About Azteca America

Azteca America engages Spanish-language viewers by creating unique, passionate and enlightening content that is relevant to the daily lives of our audience. Wholly owned by Mexican broadcaster Azteca, S.A.B de C.V., the second-largest producer of Spanish language content in the world, Azteca America complements its Mexican programs with an innovative lineup of shows from third-party producers and distributors to ensure the finest programming for its audience. The company provides tailored, multi-platform advertising solutions for clients seeking to reach the most dynamic consumer group in the country.

About Zocalo Public Square

Zocalo Public Square, a project of the Center for Social Cohesion, is a living magazine, an innovative blend of on-the-ground events and on-line journalism, that connects people to ideas and to each other in an open, accessible, non-partisan and broad-minded spirit. Through our web publication, lectures, panels, screenings, and conferences, Zocalo explores ideas that enhance our understanding of citizenship and community—the forces that strengthen or undermine human connectedness and social cohesion. Our events include a free cocktail reception that offers the opportunity to speak directly with our panelists.

We believe that over specialization and narrowcasting undermine the public square and are committed to welcoming a new, young and diverse generation to the conversation.

Grupo Salinas/Azteca America Contact: Daniel McCosh; 011(5255) 1720-0059; dmccosh@gruposalinas.com.mx

Zocalo Public Square Contact: Jennifer Y. Lee; 213-381-2541 x 203 jennifer@zocalopublicsquare.org

To RSVP for the event, please visit: www.zocalopublicsquare.org

Source: Grupo Salinas;Azteca America,Zocalo Public Square