Photo Release -- Esperanza Azteca Youth Orchestra Inaugurated in Acapulco

Inaugural Concert

ACAPULCO, Mexico, May 27, 2013 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com), a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies, founded by Ricardo Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), proudly presented the Esperanza Azteca Youth Orchestra of Acapulco during an inaugural concert at the Forum de Mundo Imperial auditorium. The event was hosted by Angel Aguirre Rivero, Governor of Guerrero and Esteban Moctezuma Barragan, Executive President of Fundación Azteca.

Esperanza Azteca Youth Orchestra of Acapulco inaugural concert


A photo accompanying this release is available at http://www.globenewswire.com/newsroom/prs/?pkgid=18953

The Esperanza Azteca Youth Orchestra of Acapulco is 218 members strong, under the conduction of Maestro Angel Jesus Perez. This is the first of three youth orchestras operating in Guerrero with the Esperanza Azteca model. Prior to the concert, Fundación Azteca presented 28 Bicentennial Merit Scholarships to students. To date, more than 1,000 children have benefited from these funds.

Esperanza Azteca of Acapulco is part of the network of 54 orchestras in 29 states of Mexico and an orchestra in El Salvador. Currently, more than 12,000 children participate in this initiative by Ricardo Salinas. Through music education, Fundación Azteca's Esperanza Azteca program seeks to actively promote important values, such as teamwork, effort and high self-esteem.

Grupo Salinas Profile

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx ; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

Esperanza Azteca Profile

It is a social project, initiated by Ricardo Salinas Pliego and operated by Fundacion Azteca, of Grupo Salinas, which contributes to the formation of better human beings through music. Rather than forming musicians, Esperanza Azteca provides to low-income children and teens across the country, the opportunity to develop the highest human values: teamwork, achievement orientation and excellence, sensitivity to aesthetic experience created by men and women, effort and discipline, diversity and cultural identity through the teaching and practice of symphonic and choral music.

For more information, visit www.fundacionazteca.org or Twitter @EsperanzaAzteca

CONTACT: Daniel McCosh; (5255) 1720-0059; dmccosh@gruposalinas.com

Source: Grupo Salinas