×

Grupo Salinas Will Send Live Video Stream From Chicago of Azteca America/ Zocalo Public Square Town Hall Meeting on Immigration

WASHINGTON, June 12, 2013 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas is pleased to offer a live streaming service of next week's Azteca America/Zócalo Public Square town hall meeting on immigration in Chicago.

The event, entitled: "What Would Immigration Reform Mean for Chicago?" will be held on Tuesday, June 18, at the Chicago Cultural Center at 7:00 pm.

The conference will be moderated by Antonio Olivo, Immigration and Urban Affairs Reporter for the Chicago Tribune, and include panelists: Immigration attorney Carlina Tapia-Ruano, Northwestern University political scientist Jaime Dominguez, University of Illinois at Chicago sociologist Xóchitl Bada, and ImmigrationWorks USA president and CEO Tamar Jacoby.

"This is the fourth of four forums that we have organized throughout the country with Zócalo Public Square at the behest of Ricardo Salinas. The discussion is extremely timely and relevant as the Immigration Reform bill continues to advance in Washington," said Luis J. Echarte, Chairman of Azteca America and Executive Vice President of Grupo Salinas.

To RSVP for the event, please visit: www.zocalopublicsquare.org

The streaming can be viewed at www.zocalopublicsquare.org or at www.fundacionaztecaamerica.org.

Follow the Azteca America/Zócalo Public Square immigration forum series on Twitter under the following hashtags:

#Immigration

#UrVoice

#TheTimeIsNow

Grupo Salinas Profile

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx ; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

About Azteca America

Azteca America engages Spanish-language viewers by creating unique, passionate and enlightening content that is relevant to the daily lives of our audience. Wholly owned by Mexican broadcaster Azteca, S.A.B de C.V., the second-largest producer of Spanish language content in the world, Azteca America complements its Mexican programs with an innovative lineup of shows from third-party producers and distributors to ensure the finest programming for its audience. The company provides tailored, multi-platform advertising solutions for clients seeking to reach the most dynamic consumer group in the country.

About Zócalo Public Square

Zócalo Public Square, a project of the Center for Social Cohesion, is a living magazine, an innovative blend of on-the-ground events and on-line journalism, that connects people to ideas and to each other in an open, accessible, non-partisan and broad-minded spirit. Through our web publication, lectures, panels, screenings, and conferences, Zócalo explores ideas that enhance our understanding of citizenship and community—the forces that strengthen or undermine human connectedness and social cohesion. Our events include a free cocktail reception that offers the opportunity to speak directly with our panelists.

We believe that over specialization and narrowcasting undermine the public square and are committed to welcoming a new, young and diverse generation to the conversation.

CONTACT: Grupo Salinas/Azteca America Contact: Daniel McCosh; 011(5255) 1720-0059; dmccosh@gruposalinas.com Zocalo Public Square Contact: Jennifer Y. Lee; 424-229-9493 jennifer@zocalopublicsquare.org

Source: Grupo Salinas; Azteca America,Zocalo Public Forum