×

Photo Release -- Ricardo Salinas Addresses the 12th National Convention of the American Chamber Mexico

Ricardo Salinas Addresses the 12th National Convention

MEXICO CITY, June 24, 2013 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com), a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies, announced that Ricardo Salinas Pliego, Chairman of Grupo Salinas, successfully addressed the American Chamber Mexico (AMCHAM) during its 12th National Convention.

Ricardo Salinas Pliego at the AMCHAM 12th National Convention


A photo accompanying this release is available at http://www.globenewswire.com/newsroom/prs/?pkgid=19510

During the convention, with the theme: "Innovative Paradigms: Taking Mexico to Action," Mr. Salinas presented the topic "The Indispensable Cultural Change," where he spoke about the need to implement a cultural change in Mexico to promote economic development and establish a culture of legality. He also mentioned the importance of improving the education system to prepare youth for the challenges of modern society and added that the prosperity of Mexico brings important benefits to both sides of the border.

About this cultural change, Mr. Salinas wrote in his personal blog: "Mexicans hold a world view that does not allow us to progress; the law is flexible and is made to protect the powerful. This conception makes it impossible for the culture of lawfulness to take root. Without the rule of law, it is very difficult for businesses and the rest of the economy to function." For more about this and other blog entries, please visit http://www.ricardosalinas.com/blog.

The AMCHAM Convention is the primary event for the U.S. business community in Mexico, not only because of the companies that are represented, but also because of the presence of business and government leaders who exchange views on the bilateral agenda.

Mr. Salinas´s presentation before the AMCHAM adds to a series of recent meetings with business and government leaders in both Mexico and the United States. In these forums, he has stressed the need for closer ties between both countries to favor business, prosperity and a better quality of life in both Mexico and the United States.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include:: Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings. Follow on Twitter @GrupoSalinas_GS

American Chamber

American Chamber of Commerce of Mexico, A.C. is an independent nonprofit organization with no political affiliations. American Chamber/Mexico was founded in 1917 and today brings together more than 1,500 companies from the United States, Mexico and other countries. It covers all sectors and sizes, as well as more than 10,000 high level executives. Our members account for almost 70% of direct investment in Mexico from the United States.

CONTACT: Media Contact: Daniel McCosh; 011(5255) 1720-0059; dmccosh@gruposalinas.com.mx

Source: Grupo Salinas