Esperanza Azteca Youth Orchestra Thrills Audiences at Arena Ciudad de Mexico Gala Concert

Grupo Salinas logo

—Esperanza Azteca program includes 55 orchestras in Mexico and Central America with the participation of 12,000 youth—

—At-risk teens receive active teaching of values through music—

MEXICO CITY, Sept. 12, 2013 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com), a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies, and deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate, founded by entrepreneur Ricardo Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), announced today that Esperanza Azteca (www.esperanzaazteca.com.mx) performed its annual Gala Concert at the Arena Ciudad de México.

The performance generated numerous standing ovations from the audience of over 10,000 spectators, who enthusiastically supported the young musicians throughout the concert.

Through the combined support of local communities, federal, state and local governments, the Mexican Chamber of Deputies and Fundación Azteca, Esperanza Azteca currently has 55 orchestras throughout Mexico and El Salvador, where over 12,000 youth actively receive lessons in universal values through music.

Values such as discipline, effort, teamwork and excellence are promoted with at-risk youth thanks to a dedicated core of teachers.

The national center for Esperanza Azteca is at La Constancia Mexicana, a refurbished textile mill in the city of Puebla. The complex was inaugurated in 2012, and features high-tech classrooms, music and video libraries.

To learn more about Esperanza Azteca visit the blog of Ricardo Salinas (http://ricardosalinas.com/blog/blog.aspx?GUID=ae313204-6003-4581-8113-b614492937a6) where Mr. Salinas shares important aspects of his philosophy regarding this project.

Grupo Salinas Profile

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx ; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

CONTACT: Daniel McCosh; (5255) 1720-0059; dmccosh@gruposalinas.com

Source: Grupo Salinas; Fundacion Azteca

More From Press Releases