Press & Links

Vote for Asia’s Top Business Leader for the 7th CNBC’s Asia Business Leader Awards

Singapore, 13 October 2008 – CNBC Asia Pacific will be hosting the 7th CNBC Asia Business Leaders Awards in Bangkok, Thailand, on the 27th of November 2008.  Once again, top corporate and opinion leaders in Asia will meet and celebrate the crème de la crème of Corporate Asia.

"Being the First in Business Worldwide, CNBC takes pride in identifying premier global business leaders and celebrating their achievements.  CNBC is also proud to host the CNBC Asia Business Leader Awards, a platform where top Asian business leaders are able to meet, network, and share valuable insights, to enhance their respective companies, and have a direct impact on enhancing the corporate economy," said Jeremy Pink, President and Managing Director, CNBC Asia Pacific. "The event also provides an interactive platform in which they are able to engage with the business community at large."

CNBC pioneered the Business Leader Awards worldwide, to acknowledge exceptional CEOs globally.  The awards are held annually in the respective regions of the United States, Europe, and Asia.  Recipients of the awards demonstrate continued commitment to excellence; develop best practices and innovative strategies, in their respective regions.

The Awards contended for this year in Asia Pacific are:
a. Asia Business Leader of the Year
b. Asia Innovator of the Year
c. Asia Viewers’ Choice of the Year
d. Corporate Social Responsibility
e. Asia Talent Management of the Year
f. Thailand Business Leader of the Year

ABLA’s unique three-phase judging process led by knowledge partner University of Chicago Graduate School of Business (GSB) Asia Campus and research partner Development Dimensions International (DDI) sets it apart from the numerous business awards programmes in the region.  

This year, CNBC has an interactive element to the voting, to enable the practitioners of Corporate Asia to have a say in the Business Leader that they think should be honored as the Asia Viewer’s Choice of the Year Award. 

The 12 finalists for the Viewers Choice Awards are:
a. Mr. Hirokazu Yoshikawa, Chairman & CEO, Dowa Holdings Co. Ltd              
b. Mr. Tan Lay Koon, President & CEO, Stats ChipPAC Ltd                     
c. Mr. Adirek Sripratak, President & CEO, Charoen Pokphand Foods PCL  
d. Mr. S. Ramadorai, CEO & MD, Tata Consultancy Services Limited   
e. Dr. Viroj Mavichak, Managing Director, Thai Oil                                    
f.  Mr. Uday Kotak, Executive Vice Chairman & MD, Kotak Mahindra                        
g. Mr. Guy Dufraisse, President, Schneider Electric China Investment Co., Ltd 
h. Mr. Bruce CH Cheng, Founder & Chairman, Delta Electronics, Inc.                
i.  Mr. Simon Lin, Chairman & CEO, Wistron Corporation                           
j.  Dr. Yoshinori Yoshida, President, JSR Corporation
k. Mr. Kenjiro Shigematsu, Representative Director & President, Sumco Corporation                            
l.  Mr. Manuel M. Lopez, Chairman & CEO, Manila Electric Company  

To vote, please visit for more information on the nominees and cast your vote via the website.  Viewers are able to vote until 5th November 2008.

About CNBC Asia Pacific

In Asia Pacific, CNBC is headquartered in Singapore and is available in over 21 countries across the region and distributed to over 140 million households. CNBC Asia Pacific’s channels, include CNBC Asia, CNBC-TV18 (India), CNBC Pakistan and Nikkei-CNBC (Japan). CNBC also has a strategic alliance with China Business Network, a wholly owned subsidiary of the Shanghai Media Group. The channels are distributed via satellite, cable and terrestrial broadcast networks, as well as broadband via CNBC content is also distributed on the 3G platform through selective markets. For more information, please visit us at