U.S. News

Delta Air Names Former Kodak CEO As Chairman


Delta Air Lines said on Friday that former Eastman Kodak Chief Executive Daniel Carp will chair its reconstituted board of directors when the company emerges from bankruptcy at the end of April.

Current Chief Executive Gerald Grinstein, who plans to retire after the company exits bankruptcy, will also have a seat on the 11-member board.

Carp will succeed current non-executive chairman John Smith, 68, who was not named to the new board.

Delta has a confirmation hearing on its reorganization plan set for April 25. If the plan is confirmed by the U.S. Bankruptcy Court in New York, the new board of directors will take office on the effective date of the plan.

The following outside directors will join Carp and Grinstein on the new board: Richard H. Anderson, executive vice president of UnitedHealth Group; John S. Brinzo, chairman of Cleveland-Cliffs; Eugene I. Davis, chairman and CEO of Pirinate Consulting Group; Richard K. Goeltz, former vice chairman and chief financial officer of American Express, a major Delta creditor; David R. Goode, former chairman of Norfolk Southern; Victor L. Lund, former chairman and CEO of American Stores; Walter Massey, president of Morehouse College in Atlanta; Paula Rosput Reynolds, president and CEO of Safeco; and Kenneth B. Woodrow, former vice chairman of Target.

Goode, Grinstein, Reynolds and Woodrow are members of Delta's current board.