Press Releases

Top BMX Riders to Turn Windy City Into Dirt Paradise Red Bull Stomping Ground New Site Announced


CHICAGO, May 10, 2010 /PRNewswire via COMTEX/ -- The new site for Red Bull Stomping Ground was unveiled today as crews began to break ground at Elston and Augusta in Chicago's Riverwest Neighborhood. The top riders in BMX have signed on to compete in Red Bull Stomping Ground, where an abandoned lot will be converted into the ultimate dirt playground in Chicago on June 12, 2010. The course designed by BMX legend Fuzzy Hall, will take weeks to groom before the likes of Ryan Nyquist, Cam White, Corey Bohan and Anthony Napolitan lay their tires to the dirt.

With a $50,000 prize purse, including a $25,000 paycheck for first place, an onslaught of riders who have proven they can win big contests will appear in Chicago to try and lay claim to the prize. From one of BMX's brightest young stars Denis Enarson to vets like Cory "Nasty" Nastazio and Rob Darden, the level of talent will provide a spectacular show for locals and fellow riders alike.

Napolitan, the 2006 overall Dirt winner for the Action Sports Tour, gave this prediction: "I expect this contest to be like no other contest I've ever been to before. Fuzzy Hall will hands-down build some of the sickest obstacles that we've never seen." The judging team for the event will include beloved rider Mike Aitken, who suffered a severe injury while riding in 2008 that left him in a coma. After a miraculous recovery, Aitken will be joining his friends on the dirt course, this time helping decide who is going to walk away with the big check. Helping announce the contest will be BMX Vert legend and X Games gold medalist Jamie Bestwick.

What was previously an abandoned factory lot will be morphed into a one-of-a-kind BMX field of dreams. On Friday, June 11 a qualifier round will be free and open to the public, as 25 riders vie for 5 open spots in Saturday's Final. Tickets are already on sale at for the Finals on Saturday, June 12. To help promote Stomping Ground, Red Bull has partnered with and Dan's Comp to create a scavenger hunt for bike keys hidden throughout the city -- participants who find the keys will have a chance to win a BMX bike at the event. In addition, NBC 5 will broadcast the full Stomping Ground performance on a date to be announced shortly.

MOUNTAINS AND MOLE HILLS Although the course will be for only the most skilled athletes, that doesn't mean the aspiring riders of the future won't get their shot. The Dan's Comp Rally Track will be open to the public all week leading into the event. A park for all abilities where pump track flow meets the rhythms of dirt jumps, locals will get their chance to meet the course builders and riders, get lessons on how to make their own jumps, and of course take a few laps around the track.

On June 11th and 12th, the pros will take over the course. Competitions will take place from 4:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. at Elston and Augusta. Parking is limited - it is recommended to walk, bike, or take the CTA. For CTA information, visit or call 1-888-YOUR-CTA.

Visit for more details and updates on the course design, rider list and to get the latest twitter gossip on the event. Add your own 2 cents by using #RBSTOMP.

For hi-res images, free for media use, visit


1. Corey Bohan

2. Anthony Napolitan

3. Ryan Nyquist

4. TJ Ellis

5. Brandon Dosch

6. Rob Darden

7. Cam White

8. Luke Parslow

9. Dave Dillewaard

10. Ryan Guettler

11. Dennis Enarson

12. Mike "Hucker" Clark

13. Cory Nastazio

14. Kye Forte

15. Gary Young

16. Chris Doyle

17. Adam Baker

18. James Foster

19. Heath Pinter

20. Alejandro Caro


1. Pat "Big Daddy" Laughlin

2. Brian Hunt

3. Chris Gerber

4. Zak Early

5. Scotty Cranmer

6. Colin Mackay

7. Josh Hult

8. KC Badger

9. Janusz Pietruczuk

10. Allan Cooke

11. TJ Lavin

12. Dane Searls

13. Josh Stead

14. Colton Satterfield

15. Ben Voyles

16. Alex Dropsy

17. Jaie Toohie

18. Ricky Mosley

19. Leo Forte

20. Allan Cooke

21. Drew Bezanson

22. Alistair Whitton

23. Panagiotis Manaras

24. Mark Mulville

25. Nate Berkheimer

26. Lance Mosley

27. Adam Aloise

28. Paul Kintner

29. Kym Grosser SOURCE Red Bull Stomping Ground Copyright (C) 2010 PR Newswire. All rights reserved -0- KEYWORD: Illinois INDUSTRY KEYWORD: SSE