Tech Guide

Here's how to delete messages you regret sending on Facebook Messenger, just like Mark Zuckerberg

Key Points
  • Facebook now lets you delete messages from old Messenger chats.
  • It was a feature only Mark Zuckerberg used to have.
  • CNBCs Todd Haselton shows you how to delete old messages from Facebook Messenger.
The new "remove for everyone" feature in Facebook Messenger. This is the desktop version.
CNBC | Todd Haselton

Facebook on Tuesday is launching a new feature that lets you delete old messages inside its chat platform, Facebook Messenger. It's a feature that previously only CEO Mark Zuckerberg had.

If you've sent messages you might regret, or if you just want to clean up your older chat history, you can easily delete select messages.

Here's how:

  • Open the Facebook Messenger app on your phone or desktop.
  • Open a conversation with messages you'd like to delete.
  • Press and hold on a message, or select the three dots menu icon on desktop.
  • Select "remove" next to the message.
  • Select "remove for everyone" -- that makes sure that the messages disappear from the inboxes of the people you sent them to, not just from your own. You have 10 minutes to delete a newer message.

That's it. Soon you'll have the same power that once belonged to Zuckerberg alone. That said, in our tests it looks like some Messenger users don't have the updated mobile app yet. Facebook said it'll roll out by the end of the day Tuesday.

WATCH: Social media detox -- why quitting Instagram and Facebook made me happier

VIDEO3:1603:16
Why quitting Instagram and Facebook made me happier